top of page
  • Anh Le

Podcast - Interview with Tudor A. Montague



Anh Le: Good afternoon everyone, and welcome to “Show and Tell” Podcast with Anh Le.


“Show and Tell” is a student short film on a Native American boy who borrows his best friend’s toys to get along with his classmates because he is being bullied for his Cree heritage. Follow our journey through filmmaking and digging into deep truths of Native American culture and history on social media.


This short film is in partnership with “Spirit Mountain Roasting Company” who believe in sharing Quechan roots through each delicious sip of roasted coffee.


Today I have a very special guest, Tudor A. Montague. Let’s bring him on. Hello Tudor. How are you?


Tudor A. Montague: Hey, good morning Anh. I’m doing great. How ‘bout yourself?


Anh Le: Well, every day's a holiday. Thank you for allowing our team to interview with you today. We would like to hear a little bit about your background and what made you interested in creating your coffee company?


Tudor A. Montague: Yeah, yeah. First, I wanted to just thank you for allowing me to help participate in this project. I think it’s really important, you know, to get the message out and share some of these things with the broader audience. Um, so again, i appreciate being a part of this.


Um, yeah, so my name is Tudor Arriquippa Montague and I’m an enrolled member of the Fort Yuma Quechan Nation in Winterhaven, California where my reservation is, straddles the California-Arizona, right on the border at the bottom part if you look on the map of the Colorado Rivers. So, we’re a river culture, um, and yeah, I was raised here in my community.


Uh, went to high school here and then left my community when I went to college in Kansas. Um, went to an all-Indian college and, you know, worked on a four-year degree at the University of Kansas and then was able to start a career in the environmental field, um, which I did for just about fifteen years working for tribal nations, uh, in Arizona.


Um, during that time I kind of had the formulation of-of what I wanted to do business-wise and was lucky enough to, you know, go down this path of coffee roasting and-and started my small business. I was in the Phoenix Valley when I was still working in the tribes and then a couple of years ago, made the decision to do, come back to my community here in the reservation and-and locate the business here with the intent of growing it on the reservation to, you know, ultimately provide some economic opportunity for some of the community members and-and just go from there.


Anh Le: How did you learn about your Quechan customs and what made you interested in learning about your Quechan culture?


Tudor A. Montague: You know, um, it’s...I think it was just by virtue of being raised here on the reservation and, you know, early on from as far back as I can remember we were exposed to our traditional customs, our bird song, bird singing, you know, some of the uh, customs that happen throughout the year, um, hearing the language spoken so that was always just a part of our existence. So, I didn’t necessarily need to search it out. It was, um, it was here for me to experience as I grew up, so - cultural immersion, I guess, is the way you can put it.


Anh Le: If you could please share with us what are the challenges you faced being a Native American when you’re outside of the reservation or while you pursue your education?


Tudor A. Montague: Yeah, yeah, there’s um...you know I-I assume it’s-it’s a similar experience to other communities of color with respect to...stereotypes and misappropriation of culture. Um, so, a lot of times folks and outside of my culture, my community, a dominant society, they...they may have stereotypes, um, that they carry with them whether it’s knowingly or unconsciously that affect their ways of interacting with, with us, um. I’ve been directly affected by it, um.


Once I left the community, I remember one time it was specific uh, I was going to a store to shop and, it was the area I was in, I guess, it’s uh...you know, immediately all eyes were on me and somebody followed me throughout the store until I finished doing my shopping so...you know, it’s something that’s common to minority cultures, I think. It’s just stereotypes, um, clouding people’s understanding, um. Lack of knowledge, um, you know, things of that nature, um, it’s just something you face continually and you know that-that hadn’t changed since that first time until, you know, not too long ago you still see it happening, so.


Uh, many ways it impacts us, but it’s just a matter of trying to educate people when you give-when you are given the opportunity about your community or culture in hopes that, you know, they’ll understand a little differently or pay a little more attention and-and treat people a little more fairly because of that.


Anh Le: What makes you proud to be a representative of the Quechan culture?


Tudor A. Montague: Hm...that’s a good question, um, and there’s a few things that come to mind but, you know, I guess one-one to start with is-is just the fact that I’m here, um, existing and-and hopefully being successful community, you know, um. After everything is said and done, I’m here doing something positive, um, for my community, um, and hopefully become, you know, something larger to that way I can impact my community even more so than I am now, but, you know. Just a very fact of being here, doing what I love, uh, something I can be proud of here on my community.


Anh Le: Do you sometimes feel as though you live in two worlds?


Tudor A. Montague: Yeah, you know, absolutely, that’s uh...something that, uh, that’s been something that’s been a part of my existence since I left the community to go to college. Uh, when I had a job working for tribes, um, would often have to, uh, meet and engage with federal state municipality representatives you know, and um...yeah, absolutely, it’s a vastly different world between interactions from folks within my community or on the reservations I was working from, versus the people you have to sit down with across the table, um, that are non-Native which are just, um, two totally different ways of conducting business, um, and, being able to switch in between them, you know. You have to be able to do that. So, yeah. There is definitely a two-world aspect to that. Yup.


Anh Le: What are the things you enjoy doing in your free time?


Tudor A. Montague: Ah yeah, so, yeah I really, I guess part of my upbringing was we always were camping or-or outdoors when I was young. So, any chance I get, you know, being outdoors, I, um, do a lot of gardening at home. So, uh, some of our traditional crops I plant that. So gardening, camping, hiking...just in general and where it's nice enough to get outdoors and enjoy it.


Anh Le: Now that the times have been changing due to COVID19 and-and racial inequality and such, to you, what does it mean to be a Native American today?


Tudor A. Montague: Hm, you know, um...there’s a lot of-lot of ways we can go with that one too. But the first thing that’s coming to mind immediately is-is resilient. You know, um, again, the fact that we’re standing here after five centuries of, um...direct attempts to, uh, erase us as a culture, um, you know, everything that’s been done we’re still here doing what we do walking alongside to, um, you know, being creative-creating things, preserving tradition, sharing when that’s appropriate, um.


You know, it’s...to me it means it’s an opportunity for us to share, to those who listen, share our world view and perspective that I think is needed more now than ever. Um, I think if-if we can do that effectively and loud enough, we can hopefully influence those that are in positions of power. Um, and little by little, there are more Native people that are actually stepping up into those roles and, um, with that being able to share again, our perspective and our world view which is often totally opposite of what dominant society is been pursuing, up until now.


You know, it’s more of viewing our place in this world as part of the world around us, not above it or-or, above it to be is to, you know, for certain benefits, but, understanding that we are a part of it and what we do affects - we affect one thing and it affects everything.


I think that perspective that we as a Native people carry can be shared and I think it can benefit society if-if enough people are listening and are aware.


Anh Le: What is one thing you would share with children who are struggling with cultural acceptance in their schools and outside of the education system, what would it be and why would you be sharing with this particular lesson?


Tudor A. Montague: Another good question, um. You know, I faced that myself when I was young and, you know, elementary had started, um...I would just say to the young ones, you know, be proud of who you are, um, regardless of, um, you know, what you hear negative things. I know it’s hard when you’re young, but truly don’t pay it too much mind inside yourself, um, look to your parents and your elders and try to understand how important you are, how important your culture is.


It’s so unique and so special. Don’t shy away from it. Embrace it. Carry it with you. It’s gonna-it’s gonna be something that’s gonna benefit you in life in the future, now and in the future. So, regardless of where you’re at, be proud of who you are.


Anh Le: Thank you very much for showing us that lesson for the children. I think they will learn a lot from your experiences and-and help them persevere with the struggles that they face in school and the differences that they embrace within their culture. So that, that, uh, particularly ends our podcast interview for today. Tudor, thank you once again for providing us time to speak with you about your experiences and the life lessons you are sharing with the children of today.


Tudor A. Montague: Ah, it’s a pleasure to share with you, Anh. And again, I appreciate what you’re doing and I look forward to-to the film and-and the good things that it can help spread. Thank you.


Anh Le: To the “Show and Tell” community, if you are interested in learning more about our film, please like our Facebook at facebook.com/ShowandTellShortFilm2020 or join our mailing list in our website’s contact page where you will receive immediate updates about the journey of our film. Do check out and support Spirit Mountain Roasting Company where with each cup of coffee, they tend it with love and delicious quality.

 

SPECIAL NOTE: Our team has successfully fundraised five percent from our Indiegogo campaign. We only have about 40 days left to fundraise $4000.00 for our short film!


It would mean so much to us if you could provide feedback and contribute to our project. The donations go straight to the funds needed to make this film come to life. Please visit our campaign at


Thank you and stay safe everyone!

 

DELICIOUS DAY: Spirit Mountain Roasting Company is one of our wonderful partners who have a passion for sharing delicious coffee while maintaining their Quechan roots.


Please support this company through their website

where they offer different blends that suit your eager taste buds. Their coffee is not to be missed!

 

CREDITS

This episode of the “Show and Tell” Podcast was produced, edited, and transcribed by Anh Le.


Special thanks to Tudor A. Montague for getting involved in our interview podcast for today.


MUSIC

Serenity by Audionautix

Creative Commons — Attribution 3.0 Unported— CC BY 3.0 https://creativecommons.org/licenses/...

Music provided by FreeMusic109https://youtube.com/FreeMusic109

0 comments
bottom of page